the unusual events of my different lives at a catalyst

When You’re Lonely

Empty Sky
By Simon Wilcox

Don’t
Don’t you stop, hesitate at the door
You’re a country; you’re a village
And I break down at your border

You always close your eyes
When you’re trying to find the answer
You turn to me and smile
“Will you come a little closer?”

You see the skies are empty tonight
But I’ll surround you when you’re lonely
And you’ll believe in things –that you can’t see
Like air, faith, and sometimes me.

Stop.
That’s enough. Yeah, we’ve been here before
You’re a teardrop; you’re an ocean
And I watch you from the shore

You always close your eyes
When you’re trying to find the answer
You turn to me and smile
“Will you come a little closer?”

You see the skies are empty tonight
But I’ll surround you when you’re lonely
And you’ll believe in thins—that you can’t see
Like air, and faith, and sometimes me.

Ohhh, Ohh, Oh,
 I’ll surround you when you’re lonely
I’ll surround you when you’re lonely
I’ll surround you when you’re lonely

Oooh, Oohh
I’ll surround you when you’re lonely
I’ll surround you (2x)
I’ll surround you when you’re lonely

You see the skies they’re empty tonight
Look at the skies they’re empty tonight
You see the skies they’re empty tonight
They’re empty—tonight

How did I end up listening to this song? I was just looking for the Finale – Danny Elfman audio video in youtube so I can download it but then this song has caught my eye “Empty Sky”. It’s the soundtrack of the movie “Brothers” (Starring Toby McGuire and Jake Gyllenhaal). I thought it would just be an instrumental  but it turns out to be a song.

As a music lover, I love songs because of different reasons and one of them is the lyrics. Mostly I love the lyrics because it has a relation to me. That’s why I kinda made a category named “Lyrical” over here.

This song is a message for a certain person in my life. It’s hard to communicate with him or even comfort him in times when he’s depressed. He gives me that heavy feeling in my torso whenever he is. It’s like…well, it is for the first time to feel this kind of heavy feeling of depression when he’s at that state…even online.

The message kinda tells, in my own want, that I am always here for you when you’re down, depressed or lonely. I know I may be something not that big to you but I will be there for you because I care.

The first underlined sentence up there “Don’t you stop; hesitate at the door”.

He shouldn’t hesitate to come to me in need of comfort. I may not be good at comforting or that much of an eyesight to you but I will still care for you and listen to you when you’re down.

“And I break down at your border”.

This has a way of explaining what I feel if I don’t do anything to help him at his times of depression. I am somehow out of his focus…like he doesn’t know I’m even there to comfort him, to help him. I have a hard time reaching out to him because of the boundary that’s there in front of his eyes. Because of this frustration, all my own mind and impulse can feel is to cry about it or be depressed about it.

I always check myself, ask questions, so as to think the next day that I cried for something worthy of it…not pointless, useless like it was before. I always ask myself about the situation.

“I’ll surround you when you’re lonely. You’ll believe in things–that you can’t see Like air and faith–and sometimes me.

Like I said, I will always be there for him (be there for anyone) when he needs me. I will try and try to reach out to him when he’s lonely, depressed and such. I have already told him that “I’m here for you” but I don’t think he sees me… Hopefully, he’ll realize, know, see things more brightly, and even see me at a different light…that I’m not only a sideline friend but someone who’s always there for him.

“Yeah, we’ve been here before”

This has always happened. He’s not the only one who feels down at times like these.

“You’re a teardrop; you’re an ocean And I watch you–from the shore”

Same thing but in a new view. I see him as someone fragile yet amazing at the same time. He’s someone ideal and great in his own ways. Although, as he becomes fragile, hurt, depressed or even lonely…I just watch him and feel so crushed inside to do so….wanting to help him but I don’t know why I hesitate. You’re just too big, too complex, too complicated for me to understand that I don’t know how to approach in your times of downcast, depression.

I don’t want to see you, feel you in pain again.

I’ll surround you, be there for you, when you’re lonely.

Leave a Reply

