the unusual events of my different lives at a catalyst

Happy “Appreciation” Day

February 14, 2012

Valentines day…Before, I normally treat it as like any other day. Really. Well, from grade school to highschool I was quite fond of it and even jealous of all the couples around me. You don’t know to what extent. It’s quite complicated since I’m kinda having multiple personalities. During those years, I would hope in that day that someone would give me a rose or a heart or something that will make my day and make me know that a certain someone likes me. Well, the wait was worthless.

Fortunately, that particular events were far gone from my mind. All those times though I inevitably do the chasing I guess. Such a tired sport and very hurtful too. If you were my blockmate this year and known friends ever since what…this time, you already have said that I have change. Maybe you’re one of those friends who think that I have found someone, totally fell in love or inspired.

Inspired, yes, but in a sense a certain someone was such a pain through 1st year college until now and finally made me realize. So…yes, I have come into terms with myself and my feelings then changed into my old carefree self. Quite independent, I do think. You saw me wearing dark eye shadow, black eyeliner, blush on, and wedge shoes. You think what I have said you would. But that is not the case. Well, that will be explained in another post. Moving on to the V day, my fellow readers.

This year, I seriously treat Valentines day as a day of appreciation. Well, in the dark behind of my mind, I thought I was going to end up as one of those sour grapes after all the crap I’ve been through with love. Well, I seem to turn out well actually, thank you very much.

I appreciated my family (though, I did not give gifts to them but my love and thanks) and friends.

That day I was treating like it was any other day but with some special care to the special people in my life. You see, I plan to buy gifts for them. Really…it’s those products from cupid! Ugh, I know right? I don’t know what else to give…can you not avoid those stuff of pink and red? Sheesh…

But then it hit me, the best gifts are those handmade, made with effort, made with love and care…duh! Let’s give some points to the smart lady! Haha! No, I don’t think the source was all from those romantic movies I watch, guh…so I got one of my favorites in one of my mom’s delicacies made and that is the Chocolate – dipped chocolate cake balls. I am telling you they are awesome! Delicious! (Check out our business in Facebook and in Multiply!)

So, yes, there are limitations, minimums…and there I only gave 6 of my special friends. I was really excited. Though, I regret in forgetting the other special people in life. They shall not be forgotten! I’m going to make more!

Anyway, 3 of them are alumnis, still members of our school’s resident theater organization: Director Kuya Ryan, and actors, Dennis and Arfil. Thank God I have free time which is 2:35pm – 4:00 pm after my Finance 11 subject. Although, throughout that period of time, I was busy too. I remembered I have to print some things (costly. tsk. tsk.), make some small letters to attach to the gifts, and receive 2 valentine cakes from dad for delivery.

Although, so far in that time, only Fia and Kuya Ryan have received their gifts. Dennis, Arfil, Sheila and Yves received theirs during my 5:15 – 5:35pm free time…between Religious Studies 20 and Business Administration 11. They really love the chocolates and I’m glad. Hopefully, they read and kept the small letters I wrote to them.

Who I have forgotten, they’ll never be left like that, I’m so gonna have to make more for them, you know!

It felt great to give…especially in Christmas…and yeah, Valentines Day! Well, it goes to show that you don’t need a lover or a boyfriend to celebrate the special day. For me, it’s about love for the people you care about, who you spend time with, who you appreciate for all the times and the things they’ve done. Not always about love for the one and only guy or girl in your life, your boyfriend, love and what there it is to them.

I treat things positively quite well now. Thanks to the so called “new me”. I wouldn’t call that though. Like I said, it’s the comeback of the carefree independent me *winks*.

Although, I have been literally sick that day…some sick things took its toll on me. Nothing mean but bad coincidences. It’s like wherever I enter a surprise courting event plays about right in front of me. I had looked up above towards God and asked why. My expression was always like “What the heck?”…but I’m not against it or anything it’s just that I can’t believe the coincidence in all this. Hahaha, no, I wasn’t allowing it to rub into my face, mind or heart. I just let it pass and think “Sigh, teen love…”

I haven’t received any Valentines gift and I never expected any. Though, I received lot of Valentine greetings from guys and even hugs from my guy friends. Awww… But that night, I received a wonderful gift….from my oh so loving father. Awwww, I know right? Well, he had said that he was going to give me my favorite chocolate, Toblerone, as a Valentine’s gift to me. I really was happy. I haven’t eaten that chocolate for a long, long time! Hahaha!

So, guys, don’t be such a sour grape in Valentines day! It’s not always for those who have lovers, boyfriends, girlfriends…it’s for those people who are special in your life. Other than being called Valentines day, it’s an “Appreciation day”! Appreciate the people who you love and care like your friends and family. Celebrate like how I did it, positively. Maybe you can celebrate it in a better way than mine.

Next Valentines Day! Hahaha! Everyday it is!

Leave a Reply

